BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Pursuant to notice, the meeting was called to order at 11:30 A.M., Friday, February 11, 2022, originating from the LA Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters, 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 739, New Orleans, Louisiana, via videoconferencing, with a quorum present.

PRESENT:

Judge Kimya Holmes, Chairman Vincent Borrello, Jr., Secretary Laura Putnam Megan Kiefer Lori Cesar Rosa Manale Vickie Nguyen, Administrator David Marcello, CSR Board Attorney

I. PRELIMINARIES

- A. Call to Order
- B. Pledge of allegiance
- C. Roll Call
- D. Certification of Necessity for Zoom Meeting

II. COMMITTEE REPORTS

A. FINANCE & OPERATIONS

1. 2022 Renewals Ms. Nguyen indicated that there are 1167 reporters who have renewed their license.

B. LICENSING AND CONTINUING EDUCATION

1. 2022 CCR and CDR Renewals Received After 1/10/22

Ms. Kiefer moved, which was seconded by Mr. Borrello, that the following reporters' suspension be continued, pending their appearance before the Board to show cause why their license should not remain suspended and/or revoked. Ms. Nguyen is instructed to serve said reporters through certified mail and electronic delivery confirmation. The motion passed without opposition.

Those reporters are as follows:

Pamela Lobrono Pepper Robertson Laurie Kraemer Raymond Serpas Darlene Abraham Susan Terry Lindsey Terell Misty Holden Dianne Pepper-Mollere Monique Sprinkle Debra Brooks Dorothy Faircloth Darlene Descant Rhonda Hollingshead Linda Sorge-Howard A motion was passed, without opposition, to reinstate the follow reporters; Debra Mannino Jacqueline Stokes LaNell Riley Carrie Hartill Kristine Ferachi Gina Delatte-Richard Alyssa Zeringue Dez O'Rourke Beverly Wesley Erin Duplechin Brittany Moore Julia Harper Karen Shales Sarita Craig

In furtherance, Ms. Kiefer moved, which was seconded by Mr. Borrello, that Ms. Wesley and Ms. Harper notify the attorneys on every proceeding they were court reporter of record, advising they were suspended at the time of said proceedings, and provide proof to the Board in which they have done so. The motion passed without opposition.

2. 2022 CCR Non-Renewals Still Unpaid as of 2/11/22

Ms. Kiefer moved, which was seconded by Mr. Borrello, that the following reporters' suspension be continued, pending their appearance before the Board to show cause why their license should not remain suspended and/or revoked. Ms. Nguyen is instructed to serve said reporters through certified mail and electronic delivery confirmation. The motion passed without opposition.

Those reporters are as follows:

Natalie Austin Alexandra Berndt Lorraine Brazil Kelly Carlson Brittany Dinh Jill Freeman Lorrie Joles Charissa Kumar Andrea Martin Meagan Murla Dorothy Oliver Mary Paul Cynthia Posey Theresa Tumulty

III. LICENSING

A. C.E. Request-Individual

Ms. Cesar moved, which was seconded by Mr. Borrello, to accept the C.E. Request-Individual. The motion passed without opposition.

B. Retirement Request

Ms. Cesar indicated that the matter be deferred in order to have Ms. Nguyen send a letter to the reporter requesting if there will be any outstanding transcript due before their retirement. Mr. Marcello will assist in preparation of said letter. Mr. Borrello moved, which was seconded by Ms. Cesar, to accept recommendation. The motion passed without opposition.

C. Discontinued CDR Request

Ms. Cesar moved, which was seconded by Mr. Borrello, to accept the Discontinued CDR Request List. The motion passed without opposition.

IV. NEW BUSINESS

A. Act 399

The matter was deferred for further discussion.

B. Act 409

The matter was deferred due to scheduling issues. Judge Holmes will appoint a special committee to address the Pilot Program.

V. SCHEDULING OF NEXT BOARD MEETING

The proposed next meeting date is May 20, 2022

VI. PUBLIC COMMENTS

None

VII. EXECUTIVE SESSION

A motion was made by the Chair to go into Executive Session to discuss VERITEXT, ET AL. v BONIN, ET AL.

VII. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made to return to public hearing and then adjourned.